Week 4: Screencasting Using Jing

Sometimes life gets in the way, and I fell behind on posting for my Principles of Multimedia and Courseware Design course the past few weeks. In week 4 I learned all about making screencasts using Jing, a free online application. Screencasts are a great way to present information to people whether they are visual or auditory learners because they can watch the presentation and listen to the narration. I’ll admit, starting out I was a bit intimidated at the idea making a screencast, mostly because I didn’t want to deal with creating the audio component. However, after giving it a try I realized it was pretty easy, and I plan to create more screencasts in the future.

One thing I realized about screencasting is that it takes some time to create a quality screencast. One thing I didn’t consider when I first started was that it would take time to write a script, create the visual component, and finally record it. For my first screencast, my partner, Katie Hatch, and I researched the theories of Edward L. Thorndike. We then wrote a short paper which we later converted into a script that I could read. Then we created a Prezi presentation so that viewers would have something interesting to look at while listening to the audio. Next we recorded our screencast, and recorded it, and recorded it again. It took a few trys before we got it right. Once we had a version that we liked we spent a while trying to upload it to the wiki for the rest of our classmates to review. This process took us longer than actually recording it, and sadly I was very little assistance. I’m not really sure what Katie did to get it posted correctly  (we tried a lot of things), but I’m really glad she at least knew what she was doing. Hopefully I will figure it out next time I have to create and post a screencast.

I did like Jing. I thought it was really easy to use and the quality was pretty good. However, I did not like that it only allowed you to record 5 minutes. We actually created two smaller screencasts because we really wanted to incorporate a YouTube video in the middle of our screencast which pushed it well past the 5 minute time limit. We thought that purchasing the pro version would give us more time, but instead it just improved our audio which was great, but not what we were looking for. In the future I plan on trying other programs that will allow me to record more than 5 minutes.

This entry was posted in LRND 6700: Principles of Multimedia and Courseware Design and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

